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AGRICULTURE COMMISSIONER REMINDS FARMERS TO SELL TO LICENSED 
PRODUCT DEALERS FOR PROTECTION AGAINST NON-PAYMENT 

 
Encourages farm product dealers to apply and those with expired licenses to 

renew 
  
New York State Agriculture Commissioner Richard A. Ball today reminded farmers that 
in order to protect themselves against non-payment and to ensure they are paid in full 
and on time, they should sell only to licensed farm product dealers. The New York State 
Department of Agriculture and Markets maintains a current list of licensed farm product 
dealers on its website and will provide a hard copy upon request.  
 
The Agricultural Producers Security Law, under Article 20 of the Agriculture and Markets 
Law, requires that farm product dealers must be licensed in order to buy or receive farm 
products from New York producers in excess of $10,000 annually to resell at 
wholesale.  They must also provide security in the form of a bond or letter of credit, and 
they must contribute to a security fund, offering additional financial protection to farmers 
in the event of a default in payment.  
 
In order to preserve a producer’s eligibility for the financial protections available under the 
Agricultural Producers Security Law, the producer must:  
 

 Sell only to licensed farm product dealers.  
 

 Stop selling product to a farm product dealer who is 120 days delinquent on 

payment.  Unpaid transactions that occur after the 120-day period will not be 

eligible for financial protection. 
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 File a claim of nonpayment with the Department within 365 days of delivery of the 
farm products.  

 
Farm product dealers’ licenses expire April 30 each year and must be renewed for the 
license year beginning May 1.  Forms to apply for the license are available at 
www.agriculture.ny.gov/programs/apsf.html.  To renew an existing license, farm product 
dealers can call 518-485-0048.   
 
For up-to-date information about the law, a copy of the brochure or a list of licensed farm 
product dealers, please visit the Department’s website at 
www.agriculture.ny.gov/programs/apsf.html or call the Department at 1-800-554-4501. 
 
Connect to the NYS Department of Agriculture on Facebook and Twitter! 
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